As ride-share services such as Uber and Lyft increase in popularity across the state of Ohio, so does the instance of ride-share-related accidents. As with any car accidents, the potential impacts of a ride-share collision can be life-altering.
Whether you are a passenger or driver, you may be wondering what support may be available to you following a ride-share accident. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be eligible for compensation to help cover the costs of medical treatments, rehabilitative care, lost wages, and more.
At Graham Law, our ride-share accident attorneys are dedicated to helping you through your personal injury claim, every step of the way. Contact us today to book a consultation and learn how we may be of service to you.
Ride-Share Insurance Policies: What to Know
In the state of Ohio, every ride-share driver is required to carry a mandated minimum in ride-share insurance coverage, in addition to their regular auto insurance.
If an accident occurs while a driver is logged into the app, they may be considered “on the clock” and therefore covered by their ride-share insurance policy as well as their regular auto insurance. Ride-share insurance minimums typically include:
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability, per person
- $100,000 coverage per incident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
- $1 million in third-party liability
- And more
If a driver is involved in an accident while off the clock, they are covered only by their regular auto insurance. In either case, an injured accident survivor may be required to provide proof as to the severity and cause of their injuries. Ohio personal injury claims use the at-fault doctrine, meaning the individual at fault for the injury-causing accident is liable for the resulting damages.
Visit our blog to learn more about rideshare and delivery accidents: insurance requirements and liability issues, and book your consultation with our Ohio ride-share accident attorneys today.
Common Injuries in Ride-Share Accidents
Injuries associated with ride-share accidents can range in severity from mild to life-threatening. Common injuries include:
- Fractured bones
- Cuts and lacerations
- Sprains and strains
- And more
The repercussions of an auto accident may reach beyond the physical. Injured accident survivors may develop mental health disorders such as anxiety, depression, and PTSD as a result of the incident.
Medical bills, rehabilitative treatments, medications, therapy, and other forms of essential care can add up to substantial debt, which can in turn add stress for the injured accident survivor and their close ones.
Working with a ride-share accident attorney, you may be able to recover the costs of these damages, as well as income you have lost as a result of being unable to work while recovering, and more. Contact us today to discuss your particular case.
Who is Eligible for a Ride-Share Accident Claim?
Ride-share drivers are considered independent contractors. This means ride-share insurance covers them – as well as anyone affected by a ride-share accident – only while the driver is “on the clock.”
Car accident claims are typically evaluated based on the severity of the injuries, and who was at fault for the accident. Depending on the circumstances, any of the following people may be eligible to file a ride-share accident claim:
- Passengers of a ride-share
- Ride-share drivers
- Passengers in other vehicles
- Other road users
If a ride-share driver’s reckless driving behavior led to an accident that caused you injury, contact us today to book a consultation with our ride-share accident attorneys and learn what financial compensation may be available to you.
First Steps After a Ride-Share Accident
The most important thing to do after a personal injury accident is to seek the medical attention you need. Some injuries may not be apparent right away, while the body is in shock. Having a licensed medical professional assess you may be vital not only to your health but also for a potential ride-share accident claim.
If the accident has caused bodily harm and/or significant property damage, call the police. Having a detailed police report on file can be of immense importance in a potential personal injury claim.
If you are able to do so safely, document as much as you can at the scene of the accident. This may include photos and videos, contact information for any witnesses, and more.
Contact a ride-share accident attorney. Navigating insurance claims can be challenging, particularly in accidents involving ride-shares, where different insurance policies may come into play. At Graham Law, we prioritize efficient, compassionate service dedicated to supporting your best interests.
Contact Graham Law and Book a Consultation with Our Ride-Share Accident Attorneys Today
Individuals injured in ride-share accidents may be eligible to receive financial compensation to help recover the costs of damages incurred as a result of a collision. Contact us today to speak with the ride-share accident attorneys at Graham Law and learn what support may be available for you.